the four original provinces of the Dominion, (7) Mongolians or Chinese.

Voting in elections is by ballot, except in the North west Territories where it is open.

No property qualification is demanded from a member of the Commons, nor is he limited to a residence in the district for which he is elected.

Electors having votes in different electoral districts can exercise their privilege in one or all.

General elections are simultaneous throughout the Dominion of Canada.

18. Writs for new elections for the House of Commons are dated and made returnable on such days as the Governor General shall determine and are addressed to such persons as the Governor General appoints, such persons to be the returning officers at the elections to which the writs relate. Within eight days from the receipt of the writ each returning officer must post up at each polling place in the electoral district for which he is appointed a proclamation setting forth dates for the days of nomination and polling, and for the official declaration of the return of the poll, together with a list of the several polling places. Such proclamation to be posted at least eight days before the day fixed in the writ for nomination. The polling day is the seventh after the day of nomination, except as specially provided.

On the assembling of a new Parliament a Speaker for the Commons is elected by the members from among themselves.

19. Members of both Houses are paid an indemnity at the rate of \$10 a day if the Session is less than thirty days, and a maximum amount of \$1,000 if more than thirty days, \$8 a day being deducted for each day of absence, if the House is sitting, unless the absence is caused by illness after he has been in attendance. They also receive a mileage allowance of ten cents a mile going and coming.

The salary of each Speaker is \$4,000 annually.

20. Members of the House of Commons, when called to the Government as heads of departments must at once resign their seats and seek re-election, an exception being made when an exchange of offices takes place.

All officers of the public service and contractors with the Government are forbidden to sit in Parliament, except in the case of officers in the militia service.